Prize winners 2019

1st Prize: Barbican Quartet

+ Special award of 1.000 Euros for the best interpretation of a piece composed before 1830, sponsored by the LISZT FOUNDATION WEIMAR.

The Barbican Quartet was founded at the Guildhall School of Music and Drama, and it consists of violinists Amarins Wierdsma and Tim Crawford, violist Christoph Slenczka and cellist Yoanna Prodanova. Winners of the 2018 Saint Martin in the Fields Chamber Music Competition, the young quartet made their debut at Wigmore Hall in 2017 thanks to the Maisie Lewis Award. They regularly perform in the UK and Europe in such halls as the Barbican Hall, Milton Court Hall, Casa de Musica Porto, St James’s Piccadilly and Ashmolean Museum. They were 2016 Park Lane Group artists and have appeared in such festivals as the IMS Prussia Cove, Harmos Festival, Portugal and undertaken a residency in Aldeburgh in 2017. Their performances have been broadcast on BBC Radio 3 as a part of the Barbican Total Immersion and BBC Proms. The Barbican quartet currently studies with Günter Pichler at the Reina Sofia String Quartet Academy in Madrid, and they regularly work with members of the Belcea quartet thanks to the Belcea Quartet Charitable Trust. They look forward to working with David Watkin this year as well as taking part in the Pro Quartet Scheme thanks to support from the Hattori Foundation. They are very grateful to the Royal Philharmonic Society for awarding them the Albert and Eugenie Frost Prize.

2nd Prize: Marmen Quartet

+ Special award of 1.000 Euros for the best interpretation of a contemporary piece, sponsored by the LISZT FOUNDATION WEIMAR.

Marmen Quartet are the inaugural winners of Music in the Round’s Bridge scheme, as well as the 2018 Annual Royal Overseas League Competition and the Royal Philharmonic Society Albert and Eugenie Frost Prize. They were selected for the 2018/19 Musicians Company Concerts Concordia Award and the Hattori Foundation Award, als well as being featured as a 2017 Selected Artist with Making Music. Performing regularly in venues around the UK and internationally, they were founded at the Royal College of Music, London, in 2013. They consist of individually acclaimed musicians Johannes Marmen (violin), Ricky Gore (violin), Bryony Gibson-Cornish (viola) and Steffan Morris (cello). They are currently holding the String Quartet Fellowship at the Guildhall School of Music and Drama, London. Since its formation, the Marmen Quartet has enjoyed masterclasses with Alfred Brendel, Gunter Pichler, Rainer Schmidt and Eberhard Feltz and were mentored by Peter Cropper. They study regularly with Simon Rowland-Jonas, Oliver Wille and John Myerscough. Radio broadcasts include appearances on Swedish Radio and BBC In Tune. In the summer of 2018 they performed at the Hitzacker, Larzac, Edinburgh Fringe, North Norfolk, North York, Lower Machen and Machynlleth Music Festivals.

3rd Prize: Cosmos Quartet

The Cosmos Quartet was established in 2014 from the friendship and mutual interests of
four musicians. Each of them has had an international trajectory as a soloist, chamber and
orchestral musician: Helena Satué (violin), Bernat Prat (violin), Lara Fernández (viola) and Oriol Prat (cello). They have received coaching from professors such as Rainer Schmidt, Hatto Beyerle,
Johannes Meissl, Alfred Brendel, Miguel da Silva, Jonathan Brown, and Patrick Jüdt among others. The Cosmos Quartet has won First Prize in the Irene-Steels Wilsing Stiftung Competition 2018, First Prize in the Montserrat Alavedra BBVA Chamber Music Competiton and First Prize at the International Chamber Music Competition „Mirabent i Magrans“ in Sitges. They have played at venues such as L’Auditori in Barcelona, Fundación Juan March in Madrid, Auditorio Miguel Delibes in Valladolid, as well as concerts in Austria during the ISA 2014. They have been invited to play at the Schubertiade in Vilabertran, at the Quincena Musical in San Sebastiàn, at the Gent Festival van Vlaanderen in Belguim, at the East Neuk Festival in Edinburgh and at the Festival de Monteleón in León. They are former members at European Chamber Music Academy ECMA held by Hatto Beyerle and Johannes Meissl, and they are in the Chamber Music Master program at the „Hochschule für Musik, Theater und Medien Hannover“ studying with Oliver Wille.

Spezial Prizes

Special prize for the best interpretation of a work composed before 1830: Barbican Quartet
Special prize for the best interpretation of a contemporary work: Marman Quartet
Special prize for the best interpretation of a romantic work: Trio Helios

Trio Hélios

Special award of 1.000 Euros for the best interpretation of a romantic work, sponsored by the LISZT FOUNDATION WEIMAR.

Surrounded by chamber music since their youngest age, Camille Fonteneau (violin), Raphaël Jouan (cello) and Alexis Gournel (piano) have been exploring with passion the diverse repertoire for piano trio. The Trio Hélios met in 2014 at the CNSMD of Paris, where they received in 2015 their Bachelor's degree in Chamber Music with the highest honors. After studying with the Wanderer Trio and Emmanuel Strosser, they are currently receiving counseling from Itamar Golan and François Salque in the Masters Degree Program at the CNSMD of Paris. They regularly benefit from masterclasses from members of the Ébène and Modigliani Quartets, and are members of the ECMA (European Chamber Music Academy) since 2018. Since 2016, they have performed Beethoven‘s Triple Concerto six times with Orchestras in Paris and Rennes, as well as with the Lyon Opera House Orchestra. They have had the opportunity to play in different venues such as the Philharmonie de Paris, Salle Cortot, the Lyon Opera House, and the Phoenix Hall in Osaka. They are invited during numerous festivals such as the Festival de la Roque d'Anthéron, the Rencontres Musicales d'Evian, the Festival d'Auvers-sur-Oise, the Festival des Arcs, and the Arts and Culture Festival in Osaka.